cannes film festival 2014

Grace of Monaco To Open 67th Cannes Film Festival

cannes film festival 2014

Grace de Monaco

“Grace of Monaco” by French director Olivier Dahan will open the 67th Cannes Film Festival on Wednesday 14 May, 2014, in the Grand Théâtre Lumière of the Palais des Festivals.

Succeeding The Great Gatsby by Baz Luhrmann, Grace of Monaco is featuring as world preview in the the Official Selection category but out of competition.
Nicole Kidman plays American actress Grace Kelly who became Princess Grace of Monaco when she married Prince Rainier III (played by Tim Roth) in 1956. The “marriage of the century” largely contributed in making Monaco and Monte Carlo known and appreciated on a global scale. Grace Kelly, an Oscar winner, was already a huge film star, having worked with the very greatest (John Ford, Alfred Hitchcock, Fred Zinnemann) and worldwide famous and acclaimed. Princess Grace of Monaco who was loved and respected by all, had a huge influence on the life of the Principalty. “Grace of Monaco” portrays a part of the Princess’ life when, married now to Prince Rainier for six years, Alfred Hitchcock is offering her a role in “Marnie”. She then has to choose: is she still a movie star or has she permanently embraced the status of Serene Highness? – With Paz Vega, Frank Langella, Parker Posey and Milo Ventimiglia

The Official Selection

The Cannes Film Festival 2014 different selections present 49 films coming from 28 pays and including 5 first films and 15 female director. From May 14 to 25, 2014, President Jane Campion and her jury will have to select which films to award among the works in competition. Great names or former Palme d’Or winners like David Cronenberg, Brother Dardenne, Ken Loach, Michel Hazanavicius, Jean-Luc Godard… will walk up Cannes Red Carpet.

Sils Maria by Olivier Assayas
Saint Laurent by Bertrand Bonello
Sommeil d’hiver by Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Maps to the Stars by David Cronenberg
Deux jours, une nuit by Brother Dardenne
Mommy by Xavier Dolan
Captive by Atom Egoyan
Adieu au langage by Jean-Luc Godard
The Search by Michel Hazanavicius
The Homesman by Tommy Lee Jones
Deux fenêtres by Naomi Kawase
Mister Turner by Mike Leigh
Jimmy’s Hall by Ken Loach
Foxcatcher by Bennett Miller
Les Merveilles by d’Alice Rohrwacher
Relatos Salvajes by Damian Szifron
Leviathan by Andreï Zviaguintsev
Tombouctou by d’Abderrahmane Sissako

Out of Competition
Grace de Monaco by Olivier Dahan (opening film)
Coming Home by Zhang Yimou
Dragons 2 by Dean DeBlois
Les Gens du Monde by Yves Jeuland
L’Homme qu’On Aimait Trop by André Téchiné

Special screenings
Eau argentée by Oussama Mohammed
Midan by Serguei Loznitsa
Red Army by Gabe Polsky
Caricaturistes – Les Fantassins de la démocratie by Stéphanie Valloatto
Les Ponts de Sarajevo

Of Men and War (Des Hommes et de la guerre) by Laurent Bécue-Renard
The Owners by Adilkhan Yerzhanov
Géronimo by Tony Gatlif with Céline Salette, Rachid Yous
El Ardor by Pablo Fendrik

Midnight screenings
The Rover by David Michod
The Salvation by Kristian Levring
Pyo-jeok – Target by Chang

cannes film festival 2014

Pablo Trapero © FDC / RR Courtesy Festival de Cannes

Un Certain Regard

Argentinean screenwriter, producer and director Pablo Trapero is the President of the Jury of Un Certain Regard Official Selection 2014

Party Girl by Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis (Opening film)
(Title of film to come) by Lisandro Alonso
La Chambre bleue by Mathieu Amalric
L’Incomprise by Asia Argento
Titli by Kanu Behl
Lost River by Ryan Gosling
Eleanor Rigby by Ned Menson
Amour Fou by Jessica Hausner
Bird People by Pascale Ferran
Charlie’s Country by Rolf de Heer
Snow in Paradise by Andrew Hulme
A Girl of my Door by July Yung
Turist by Ruben Ostlun
Xenia by Panos Koutras
Run by Philippe Lacôte
Hermosa Juventud by Jaime Rosales
Le Sel de la Terre by Wim Wenders and Juliano Ribeiro Salgado
Fantasia by Wang Chao
Harcheck Mi Headro by Keren Yedaya
Fehér Isten (White God) by Kornél Mundruczó

Cannes Classics
Paris, Texas by Wim Wenders

cannes film festival 2014

Caméra d’Or Jury President Nicole Garcia © AFP / Larry Busacca – Courtesy Festival de Cannes

 Caméra d’Or

French actress, director and screenwriter Nicole Garcia will preside over this year’s Caméra d’Or Jury. Created in 1978, the Caméra d’Or has been honoring the best debut film presented in the Official Selection: Competition, Out of Competition, Un Certain Regard, Critics’ Week or Directors’ Fortnight. Nicole Garcia declared: “Presiding over the Caméra d’Or is an honour, a joy and a mission!”

Grace of Monaco To Open 67th Cannes Film Festival was last modified: May 2nd, 2014 by tamel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap