festival cannes 2018 cloture

2018 Festival de Cannes, the Palmarès

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Cate Blanchett, Présidente du Jury ©YesICannes.com

Chaired by the sublime Australian actress and producer Cate Blanchett, the Jury of the 71st Festival de Cannes unveiled on May 19 the winners of the various prizes and awarded the Palme d’Or to Shoplifters (Manbiki Kazoku) by Hirokazu Kore-eda (Japan), presented during the Awards Ceremony.

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Le réalisateur Hirokazu Kore-eda ©YesICannes.com

Palme d’Or for Shop Lifters

After an always very glamorous Red Carpet, featuring many international stars and muses, the 2018 Festival de Cannes closing ceremony, welcomed on the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière all the winners, greeted by Master of Ceremonies Edouard Baer. The Palme d’Or, awarded by Cate Blanchett, has crowned the talent of Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda for his film Shoplifters (Manbiki Kazoku), awarded as best among twenty-one films in Official Competition.
At the end of the Ceremony of the Palmares of this 71st edition, Terry Gilliam presented his film The Man Who Killed Don Quixote to a parterre of stars and personalities of the cinema, the fashion and the arts.

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Terry Gilliam et l’équipe de L’Homme Qui Tua Don Quichotte ©YesICannes.com

The Jury of the Cannes Festival 2018

The Jury members of the 2018 Cannes Film Festival were: Chang Chen, actor, China – Ava DuVernay, screenwriter, director, producer, USA – Robert Guédiguian, director, screenwriter, producer, France – Khadja Nin, author, composer, performer, Burundi – Léa Seydoux, actress, France – Kristen Stewart, actress, USA – Denis Villeneuve, director, screenwriter, Canada – Andrey Zvyagintsev, director, scriptwriter, Russia.

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Le Jury du 71ème Festival de Cannes ©YesICannes.com

The 2018 Festival de Cannes  list of winners

Feature films

Palme d’Or
Shoplifters (Manbiki Kazoku) by Hirokazu Kore-eda (Japan)

Special Palme d’Or
The Picture Book (Le Livre d’Image) by Jean-Luc Godard

Jury Prize
Capharnaüm by Nadine Labaki

Grand Prix
Blackkklansman by Spike Lee

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Spike Lee ©YesICannes.com

Best Director Prize
Cold War (Zimna Wojna) by Pawel Pawlikowski

Best Screenplay Ex-aequo
Alice Rohrwacher for Lazzaro Felice (Happy like Lazzaro)
Jafar Panahi for 3 Faces (Se Rokh)

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Behnaz Jafari & Solmaz Panahi, fille de Jafar Panahi ©YesICannes.com

Best Performance by an actress
Samal Yeslyamova in Ayka by Sergey Dvortsevoy

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Marcello Fonte & Matteo Garrone ©YesICannes.com

Best Performance by an actor
Marcello Fonte in Dogman by Matteo Garrone

Short Films

Palme d’Or
All These Creatures by Charles Williams (Australia).

Special Distinction by the Jury
On The Border (Yan Bian Shao Nian) by Wei Shujun (China).

festival cannes 2018 cloture

Sting ©YesICannes.com

Caméra d’Or
Girl by Lukas Dhont, a film selected in the Un Certain Regard section, which also won the Un Certain Regard best performance as an actor awarded to Victor Polster, 16 years old.

The 2018 Technician Artist Vulcan Prize has been awarded to Shin Joom-Hee, Artistic Director of Burning for his outstanding contribution to character characterization.


festival cannes 2018 cloture


The Red Carpet of the Awards Ceremony

Click to enlarge – © YesICannes.com – All rights reserved

festival cannes 2018 cloture

2018 Festival de Cannes, the Palmarès was last modified: May 23rd, 2018 by tamel

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap